5 Interesting Facts about Janet – the US Goverment’s Secret Airline That Transports Workers to Area 51

If you are not a conspiracy theorist you probably don’t know that “Janet” is said to stand for ‘Just Another Non-Existent Terminal’.


Janet is a small fleet of passenger aircraft operated for the United States Air Force. It is primarily used to transport military and contractor employees to Area 51 from their terminal at Las Vegas’ McCarran International Airport.



Here are 5 interesting facts about it:

5. Operated for US Air Force by AECOM



It is operated for the USAF by infrastructure and defense contractor AECOM through the AECOM acquisition in 2014 of URS Corporation, which acquired EG&G Technical Services in 2002.


4. How They Hire



In 2010, URS announced job openings for Boeing 737 Flight Attendants to be based in Las Vegas. They required applicants to undergo  Single Scope Background Investigation in order to be able to obtain a Top Secret security clearance.


3. Three Digit Flight Numbers




Janet flight numbers are always three digits with a WWW-prefix. In the official publication of ICAO airline codes, this particular three-letter designator is listed as ‘blocked’.


2. Fleet Consists of Boeing 737-600s


The Janet fleet consists of six Boeing 737-600s now. They are painted white with a prominent red cheatline. There are also five smaller executive turboprops (two Beechcraft 1900s and three Beechcraft 200Cs) painted white with less prominent blue trim stripes.


1. Planes Previously Used by Air China


All the 737-600 aircraft are ex-Air China and with the exception of N273RH and N365SR. These two were previously operated by the now defunct China Southwest Airlines before being acquired for US Air Force operations in 2008.


Via TechEBlog 

Checkout these cool gadgets...